Posted in Magazine Issues

Interview with Sly and The StreetBeat

Sly is a 25 year old artist attending Manchester Community College at the moment but in every other moment is creating some new type of music, and here is our interview with Sly and the StreetBeat.

How long have you been creating music?

I started in my freshman year of high school. I enrolled in the remedial guitar course being offered by the school. I started making hip hop beats in my first year of college. When it’s all said and done I’ve been doing the music thing for 10 years now. Its been years since I’ve had any lessons and am looking to possibly further my musical skills and knowledge.

I know you play guitar but are there any other instruments you play or utilize?

Well other than guitar I fool around with a midi controller which allows me to experiment with an array of instruments ranging from drums to keyboards and pianos, and various synthesizers.

So, what made you create the name “Sly and the StreetBeat”?

“Sly and the Street Beat” is an homage to one of the greatest bands innovate funk and ultimately hip hop, “Sly & The Family Stone

Who inspires you to create Beats?

I owe everything I know not only about making beats and sampling techniques but also about some of the business aspects of music to my great friend Michael Spellman from here in Manchester. He goes by the name “Beat Wiz” and in my mind he is an unparalleled talent in both producing music and playing drums. His artistic instinct and drive are like nothing I’ve ever seen. Other influences include noted musicians Jimi Hendrix, Sly Stone, Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield- hip hop artists like J Dilla (aka Jay Dee), 9th Wonder, Pete Rock, DJ Premier- and local CT talent like Hartford based emcee Joey Batts.

Why do you create beats?

I make beats because it is an easy outlet for me to create and its a wonderful form of pastiche in which I can creatively incorporate samples in a way that can express a certain mood or message. It’s also a way to keep my ears trained as I don’t have as much time to sit down with my guitar at times.

So, are you working on anything that you’d like us to promote?

I am working on a project with the great freestyle artist and amazing emcee from Hartford Joey Batts. Details to come but its going to be a different sound for him and we are both excited about the energy radiating from the tracks. If you’d like to get in touch with me I have a soundcloud— and a Facebook page that had been bare and in need of a relaunch.

Its been good chatting! Thank you! – Sly

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

Leave a Reply

