Posted in Magazine Issues, Staff Articles

The Art of Bathing. . .

Starts with Soap

I’m not dissing anyone for their hygiene, but I thought it would be fun to make some soap. You may have even seen homemade soaps, lotions, and chapsticks and wondered, hmm, maybe I can make those? The answer young lad, or lass, is YES, you can. Si Se Puede! I feel really old making that reference, and I’m only 20, anyway, moving on.

It’s actually pretty common, and you probably have said none of that. Either way, I think it’s a fun little project to make soap, chapsticks, and more. On Pixie Wishes Forehead Kisses you can look through their food AND beauty tutorials, but ehm, try not to mix them up in the kitchen. You don’t want to eat your new facial mask, or put spaghetti in the shower. Now trust me, that is NOT as fun as it sounds. Especially when you’re the one who ends up cleaning it. 

homemade

Maybe some of you artists can turn these simple things into something else? Or involve the kids (assuming you have some kids to do this with, or friends, they work too?)!

First off, here is an elaborate soap Buddha. Okay, let me get this out of the way; Soap Buddha. It’s really fun to say, and odd at the same time.

Buddha Soap

If you want to buy this just visit Soap Rhapsody on Etsy. It’s a pretty interesting sculpture but unless you’re good with these kinds of tools:

SoapCarvingAnd are really good with them, we can’t really do this but we can make something simple like this:

Soaps

Although if you want to carve something out of it, be my guest. I’d personally love to see all the ideas! Oh, I forgot to mention what you need didn’t I?

To make General Soap you will need to choose a method, and create the soap: http://www.soap-making-essentials.com/how-to-make-soap.html everything is listed there.

So go ahead and try it!

I recommend either getting a soap mold to help the soap form a basic shape for carving or for if you just want to a simple soap that looks like a flower.

We would love to see the results so post them to the Facebook Page!!

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

Leave a Reply

