Posted in Magazine Issues, Staff Articles

Interview with Craig T.

 Craig is a very private artist, [and one of our own staff] but we got him to come out a bit, and do a small interview. Enjoy! There will also be a contest created by him starting June 1st, keep your eyes peeled.

When did you start drawings and why?
I started seriously drawing around 9. I always did it because I thought it was so much fun to draw : D. I started by drawing video game characters like Sonic the Hedgehog, Megaman, ect.

What makes you create the characters you do?
I always wanted to make up a story that would be like survival horror. And I’ve always wanted to create my own characters so I just decided to go for it.

Does each character represent a specific thing?
Most of the characters in my story represent someone dear in my life. The only character that isn’t really based on a person I actually know would be Clyde.

How do you make them interact with another character?
So far The only characters that actually have like a interaction so far are Travis and Clyde. They are basically rivals. Clyde pretty much wants to kill Travis but knows he needs to work with him to survive.

How did you come up with the design?
Honestly its highly complicated. It just popped up in my head and I had done various designs for the character Travis. He first appeared looking like a Ninja-like superhero.

Where do you find the inspiration to create a totally new design?
For character designs; it’s pretty an elimination process. I have multiple ideas for characters as time goes by I think about how they would fit into the story, what they do and what powers they have. For monster designs….it’s different. Monster designs normally show up in my dreams…Nightmares is more of the correct term. If a monster appears in my dreams I get inspired to draw it or something close to it.

What kind of drawing style do you consider yourself doing?
A lot of people have told me my style is Anime/manga. I don’t really think it is and quite honestly I find it almost annoying. I do admit my drawing style has anime/manga elements in them. But I borrowed elements from both manga styles and American comic book styles. So it’s more of a combination of the two. It’s MY style.

How do you feel when you draw?
Excited. I always feel like I’m bringing a design to life when I begin drawing a monster or character J

Do you draw for yourself or others more?
Myself. I don’t feel as though my work is up to par with others and while it does upset me some of the time, I would rather I continue to draw the characters I created.

How do you feel when some recognizes your artworks and style?
A mixture of embarrassment and happiness.

To see his artwork, you might have to catch him a bit off guard  He won’t let us show you right now. We’re all waiting to see the amazing characters he creates but here is a sneak peek.

CRAIG

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

Leave a Reply

