Posted in Staff Articles

Pinch the Pennies – Step One

Image

 

You’d think after living on no income, you’d start pinching those pennies. Or even more so than if you had the money to begin with, and that’s what made me think as I’m reading Aradia, or the Gospel of Witches. I’ll do a book review on that in the near future but for now, all I can think of is Extreme Cheapskates and that 1.89 Shredded Chicken Burrito I just ate from Taco Bell. Man, I should have saved that. I think I have a quarter to take the taste out of my mouth with a gumball. 

 I was expecting more money in my bank account but I was terribly wrong. So many thoughts ran through my mind and that’s why I’m writing this out before I go to work. I’m going to begin this Friday with a trial-and-error type budget. I get a paycard and I usually get 100-200+ per week depending on the amount of hours I put it. 

So, lets start with that. 

150+ will go into the main account. That will not be touched until August. I have to get my taxes and find out if I’m getting anything back. Hopefully I will, and that goes directly into the NO TOUCH FUND. Which shouldn’t be that difficult right? Especially since I’ll have you all helping and we can do it together. If you have 2 cards with money lets limit it to the one we’re going to be using weekly. 

Card 1 is our allotted amount. We will keep at least 20+ dollars for the week there. You can also try saving up but once you hit 100 in that card at least a majority or half needs to be transfered into the No Touch Card. Our goal is to get to over 1000 in that main account. Why?

Because it will help us in the long run for paying the rent, food, bills, etc. That will all be done by the main card. The second card is our backup, or spending, free cash money to play with. Use it wisely. 

Every week on Friday, I’ll give an update and what I’ve done to start building up the main account. We will also search for ways to build our bank accounts by using coupons and the likes. Clothing shopping, where do you like to shop? My stores include Hot Topic, New York & Company, L&L which was originally Pac Sun, Zumiez (on occassion), Teavana, Stop & Shop, Charley’s Grilled Subs –whoops now I’m getting into the food. Back to clothing, hmm, well I love window shopping on Etsy.com and other sites but I’ve never actually bought anything and I always want too. 

I also buy from Macy’s. . . that charge card though. BE CAREFUL. That is my final warning, if you get into trouble with Macys that is your own dilemma, because the simplicity of it is pay it off WHILE YOUR STILL IN THE STORE giving you a ZERO BALANCE and NO BILL! That’s what is so simple, even if you do small payments here and there it will add up and give you a no-negative balance. 

I have to head into work now with that said, I hope this new resolution is solved and done.

Catch you again on Friday! 

 

 

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

Leave a Reply

