Posted in Magazine Issues, Staff Articles

Inktober Versus Quality

Good Morning!
To mark the beginnings of the October, there is something mysterious artists do in which they refer to the challenge,

What is this challenge? It’s called Inktober. Its a month long challenge/event. In Witch, hehe see what I did there. . . Okay, what you do is create an Ink drawing per day. There is only one real rule; it must be inked.

Everyday.

Just to reiterate it; you must complete it. Now, to be honest, this is just my personal opinion when it comes to challenges like this. Its also a personal preference, just to be clear on that.

The drawings I keep seeing are just scrap-work, and again, that is my personal opinion. When I say scrap-work this is the kind of art that I am looking at; moon_by_augustyne-d4ibwnh

I understand not having the time to work on a piece because you are bogged down by other works, or you are just a hobbyist and this isn’t a full time job, but still don’t put up work that has no type of quality.

I do not think you should sacrifice the quality of your work by uploading scraps you have inked in the hopes of keeping up with the Inktober mindset.

Now, when you re-purpose those scraps and redraw them or turn them into something else, that’s a whole ‘nother post in its entirety.

Im honestly just being saddened by those artists who are doing what I’m describing. Please note that not every artist thinks about this in the same way. Again, I really want to make it clear that this is a personal preference. So, with that being said I am going to be using to of my own pieces as a starting point, or example if you will. As to not offend anyone. girl_chosen_by_augustyne-d6dwx95

Especially when I know and understand that every one arts differently lol but I want people even hobbyist to strive for greatness when they put their “Art Foot” forward. I want there to be this glass star way up there, out of reach, and you just have to stretch yourself out and just break it. I want you to break that star with your artwork.

JUST BREAK IT and then make a new goal to reach for, and with all that being said, leads into my next topic of Learning through Experience but we shall get there soon!

So for the year of 2016, and the month of Inktober. I am going to challenge myself, and attempt to put my best artwork forward. I shall leave you with this new standard to put upon yourself as well. . . . . . . . .  . I Challenge YOU!

(Below is a drawing for Inktober 2015)

image_by_augustyne-d9cva9t

That was all for today, thanks for stopping by!

BYE!!!

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

Leave a Reply

