Posted in Staff Articles

Learning Through Experience

Good Morning!
Now I know, for a fact, that there are better artists than me, but I’ve come to accept that fact and have embraced this style I’ve come to develop. I’m still slowly learning it more and more however. I’ve come to accept that my niche is a bit on the cartoony side. That’s just my style and the more I learn the better I will become but what I really want to discuss is programs and learning to use them.

So, what’s my learning curve?

Now the way I got back into digital art after years of not wanting to go there but admiring others who could, was by searching for my old tablets, and guess what? I found the tablet but was missing the pen! Then I lost the tablet again and found the pen!But guess what, they were broken!  So I attempted to save money, and buy myself a new one. I was determined. I originally wanted a Cintiq but I don’t have that kind of moolah! A week or two later I ended up with my Wacom Intous Draw Tablet. wacom-intuos-draw-intuos-art-tablet

Then a day later, I registered it and realized all of Wacom’s products come with the option to download and that’s how I re-downloaded my Photoshop Elements 10, along with a new program. I downloaded  ArtRage Liteartrage-lite-logoThere are also programs that are free to use in general, or Open-share, example being Gimp, and Pixlr. I have no clue how to use Gimp, but I’m generally okay with using Pixlr for basic edits, although I do prefer PicMonkey, which is what I use to resize and add in text to my Redbubble works. However, I’m perfectly aware that they do exist in this present day and are getting better and better by the hour.

Anyhow; learning curves. . . .

First off; a learning curve is the time you allot yourself to learn a program, or something else in life. So a learning curve when it comes to digital art, is basically, the time you give yourself before officially calling it quits —or actually sticking around because you are starting to get the hang of some of the programs.

I’m being extremely serious though, you, or me, it’s a personal thing, either you learn to do one thing in the program of choice and see where it takes you OR you get a bit burnt out trying to learn how to do a bit of everything. Watching 24hr tutorials, documenting, jotting down notes, and keyboard shortcuts, it’s exhausting I know.

I still recommend it though, even if you learn how to do 1 thing in the program and just learn to do it well. Then move on, and try something else. Examples; coloring an image, using the pen tool, layering. Not just learning that you can’t figure out how to zoom and scroll when you want to get in some really good detail. . yep. . .still haven’t learned to do that yet. I’m not sure why it doesn’t do it, or how to do it, maybe I’m doing something wrong? Oh well, we will get there. . .

But that’s what I mean when I talk about learning curves, so tell me;
What are yours?

Author:

I'm a Connecticut Based Freelance Artist, who dabbles in Digital Media with a strong suit in Traditional Pen and Ink stylized drawings. You can find more of my work on http://augustyne.daportfolio.com

One thought on “Learning Through Experience

Leave a Reply

